Survodutide: doses reported in published research
Sources checked 2026-10-07 · 3 cited studies (3 human, 0 animal, 0 cell culture)
Survodutide (BI 456906) is an investigational dual glucagon and GLP-1 receptor agonist. It is not approved by the FDA; doses below come from published phase 2 trials.
Human data: published phase 2 trials (obesity, type 2 diabetes, MASH).
Studies in people (3)
Human 386 adults aged 18-75 with BMI 27 or more, without diabetes; phase 2 dose-finding randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial
- Dose as reported
- 0.6, 2.4, 3.6 or 4.8 mg (separate groups)
- Route
- Subcutaneous
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly for 46 weeks (20 weeks dose escalation)
Source wording: to subcutaneous survodutide (0·6, 2·4, 3·6, or 4·8 mg) or placebo once-weekly for 46 weeks (20 weeks dose escalation;
386 (100%) participants were treated
le Roux CW, Steen O, Lucas KJ et al.. Glucagon and GLP-1 receptor dual agonist survodutide for obesity: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-finding phase 2 trial. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 2024. PubMed PMID 38330987 ↗
Human Adults with biopsy-confirmed MASH and fibrosis (293 dosed), phase 2 randomized trial
- Dose as reported
- 2.4, 4.8 or 6.0 mg (separate groups)
- Route
- Subcutaneous
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly for 48 weeks
Source wording: In this 48-week, phase 2 trial, we randomly assigned adults with biopsy-confirmed MASH and fibrosis stage F1 through F3 in a 1:1:1:1 ratio to receive once-weekly subcutaneous injections of survodutide at a dose of 2.4, 4.8, or 6.0 mg or placebo.
Sanyal AJ, Bedossa P, Fraessdorf M et al.. A Phase 2 Randomized Trial of Survodutide in MASH and Fibrosis. N Engl J Med 2024. PubMed PMID 38847460 ↗
Human Adults with type 2 diabetes, phase 2 randomized trial (placebo and open-label semaglutide comparators)
- Dose as reported
- Up to 0.3, 0.9, 1.8 or 2.7 mg once weekly; or 1.2 or 1.8 mg twice weekly (separate groups)
- Route
- Not stated in the abstract
- Frequency / duration
- Once or twice weekly
Source wording: Participants were randomised via interactive response technology to receive survodutide (up to 0.3, 0.9, 1.8 or 2.7 mg once weekly [qw;
1.2 or 1.8 mg twice weekly [DG 5 and 6, respectively]
Blüher M, Rosenstock J, Hoefler J et al.. Dose-response effects on HbA1c and bodyweight reduction of survodutide, a dual glucagon/GLP-1 receptor agonist, compared with placebo and open-label semaglutide in people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised clinical trial. Diabetologia 2024. PubMed PMID 38095657 ↗
Half-life
No half-life value was found in the sources reviewed for this page.
About this page
- Every figure above is copied from the cited source; the source wording is shown with each entry. Where a source does not state something, the page says so.
- Only abstracts, open-access full texts, registry records and FDA labels were used, so details found only in a paywalled full text may be missing.
- This page does not convert doses between species or into other measures, and gives no preparation or handling information.
See also: lab-tested lots (COA lookup) · all compounds in this section.