SS-31: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- SS-31
- Also called
- elamipretide; Bendavia; MTP-131
- Sequence
- D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH₂ (Dmt = 2′,6′-dimethyltyrosine) (4 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C32H49N9O5
- Molecular weight
- 639.8 g/mol
- CAS number
- 736992-21-5
- Source
- PubChem CID 11764719 ↗
A synthetic tetrapeptide (Szeto-Schiller peptide 31), also known by the drug name elamipretide.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 469 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 169 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 21 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 96 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 22 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: "SS-31"[tiab] OR elamipretide[tiab] OR Bendavia[tiab] OR "MTP-131"[tiab]. ClinicalTrials.gov query: elamipretide OR "SS-31". PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): Not named on FDA's Category 2 bulk-drug-substances page (checked Oct 7, 2026). Separately, elamipretide is the active ingredient of Forzinity, a prescription drug product that received FDA accelerated approval on Sept 19, 2025 for a rare mitochondrial disorder. Research-grade SS-31 vials sold by vendors are not that drug product. FDA source ↗ · FDA announcement ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested SS-31 lots (12)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SS50-005 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 50 mg | Jul 3, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.95% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| SS10-004 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 10 mg | Apr 12, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.96% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| MS10N022626 | Paramount Peptides · SS-31 (14mg) | Mar 18, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.74% | Not reported |
| MS10N022826 | Paramount Peptides · SS-31 (14mg) | Mar 18, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.78% | Not reported |
| SS50-004 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 50 mg | Dec 26, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.96% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| SS50-003 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 50 mg | Dec 23, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.91% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| SS10-003 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 10 mg | Nov 20, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.59% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| SS10-002 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 10 mg | Sep 12, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.87% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| SS50-002 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 50 mg | Sep 12, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.91% | Mass identified as SS-31 (LC-MS) |
| SS10-001 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 10 mg | Aug 13, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.94% | Not reported |
| SS50-001 | Peptira · SS-31 Vial 50 mg | Aug 13, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.59% | Not reported |
| $3115N062025 | Paramount Peptides · SS-31 (15mg) | Jun 29, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.46% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: SS-31: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Brain & nervous system, Heart & blood vessels, Muscle & tendon, Eye.